IJIMT 2017 Vol.8(6): 466-470 ISSN: 2010-0248
doi: 10.18178/ijimt.2017.8.6.772

Malaysia East Coast Energy Harvesting Invention

Icahri Chatta, Safarudin Salehuddin, Mohd Baharum Muhammad Din, Noor Azme Omar, Suriani Othman, Mohd Fauzi Mohamad, and Mohd Radzi Abd Hamid
Abstract— Tourism had been one of economic contribution and increasing countries as renewable income. Sea view and river front and coastal development concept as resorts, hotels and infrastructure had been developed rapidly and consumed water and energy resources tremendiously. Coastal infrastructure development near to the coastline and facing coastal erosion every second around the globe. Coastal erosion had potential damaging coastal infrasturcture, thus requiring annual cost for rectification. Many coastal breakwater and ocean wave breaker had been in many designs and deployed around the world in order to reduce coastal erosion. Today, the concept of coastal wave breaker had been incoorperated with energy harvesting invention. This study carried out a prototype that reducing coastal erosion by dissipating nature energy force from ocean wave. Since 2015, prototype named NAHRIM’s Coastal Defense and Energy Generator (N-CODE) had been started invented, tested at laboratory and sites in order to solve coastal erosion at Malaysian East Coast, by dissipating South China Sea wave converted into electricity. Many designs had been tested at Hydraulic and Instrumentation Laboratory (ISO9001:2008), National Hydraulic Research Institute of Malaysia (NAHRIM). The design of N-CODE had been go through laboratory testing scenario and on site testing scenario. In this study, N-CODE could able to harvest ocean’s energy between 2-4 Amphere per second in Direct Current (DC), able to charging powerbanks and lighted up LED.

Index Terms— Energy harvesting, coastal erosion, hydraulic, ocean energy, ocean wave, direct current.

Authors are with National Hydraulic Research Institute of Malaysia (NAHRIM), Lot 5377, Jalan Putra Permai, 43300, Seri Kembangan, Selangor, Malaysia (email: Malaysia.icahri@nahrim.gov.my, safarudin@nahrim.gov.my, baharum@nahrim.gov.my, azme@nahrim.gov.my, suriani@nahrim.gov.my, fauzi@nahrim.gov.my, radzi@nahrim.gov.my).

[PDF]

Cite: Icahri Chatta, Safarudin Salehuddin, Mohd Baharum Muhammad Din, Noor Azme Omar, Suriani Othman, Mohd Fauzi Mohamad, and Mohd Radzi Abd Hamid, " Malaysia East Coast Energy Harvesting Invention," International Journal of Innovation, Management and Technology vol. 8, no. 6, pp. 466-470, 2017.

Copyright © 2008-2015. International Journal of Innovation, Management and Technology. All rights reserved.
E-mail: ijimt@ejournal.net